Frequently Asked Questions About DUI
At the Florida law firm of Norgard, Norgard & Chastang, we have a wealth of experience in drunk driving defense and other criminal matters statewide. Our team includes two lawyers who are board-certified in criminal trial practice by The Florida Bar, in addition to a former prosecutor. This exceptional experience makes us ideally qualified to answer your questions and defend your rights.
Call 863-354-0508 to set up a free consultation, or review the frequently asked questions and answers below.
What Are The Penalties Of A Conviction?
The penalties depend on a variety of factors, including whether this is your first offense, whether there was a minor in the car or not, what your blood/breath alcohol level (BAL) was, etc. You may be facing the following penalties, among others:
- Jail time — Up to nine months of imprisonment for a first offense or participation in a residential alcohol treatment program.
- Fines — Between $500 and $2,000 for a first offense and between $1,000 and $4,000 for a second offense.
- Loss of your driver’s license — License revocation for at least 180 days for a first offense and at least five years for a second offense within five years.
- Community service — Fifty hours of mandatory community service or extra fines.
- Vehicle impoundment or immobilization — Ten days for a first offense, unless your family has no other transportation.
Don’t accept the penalties without a fight. Instead, get a defense lawyer on your side.
Can I Fight The Suspension Of My Driver’s License?
Yes, but you need to act quickly. If you are charged with DUI, you have only 10 days to request an administrative review hearing before the Department of Motor Vehicles. If you miss this deadline, your license will automatically be suspended.
What Happens If I Have A Commercial Driver’s License (CDL)?
If you are convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, you will automatically lose your right to drive a commercial vehicle for one year. This is simply for a first offense. If you are convicted of a second DUI, you will lose your CDL permanently. Obviously, this has the potential to destroy your entire career, so don’t wait to contact a lawyer for help.
When Does A DUI Count As A Felony?
You may be charged with felony DUI if this is your third offense within the past 10 years. You may also be charged with a felony if you cause an accident that seriously injures someone.
Are The Rules The Same For Underage Drivers?
Drivers under the age of 21 are in danger of an administrative driver’s license suspension for driving with a BAL of .02 or more. This is an extremely low threshold. Our law firm, however, is experienced in cases that involve underage drinking and driving. Let us be your advocate.
Have more questions? Get answers in a free consultation with one of our attorneys. Call our Bartow office at 863-354-0508 or contact us online.